

Minutes of the Remote ANNUAL Meeting

Thursday 20th May 2021

Present:

By Video: Cllr Tony Graham (Chair), Cllr Norma Graham, Cllr Sheila Jones, Cllr B Jones, Cllr F Gay,

Cllr A Broughton-Pettit

BY Phone: Cllr John Leek. Cllr Pam Nelder

Apologies: Cllr Sheila Newbury

In Attendance: Marcia Jones (Clerk). Michelle Jones, CEO, Parent Network.

1. To elect a Chair for 2021-2022

Nominations were requested. Cllr B Jones nominated Cllr T Graham, which was seconded by Cllr Gay. No further nominations received. Cllr T Graham unanimously elected. Clerk to arrange for signature of Declaration of Acceptance.

2. To elect the Vice Chair

Nominations were requested. Cllr B Jones was nominated by Cllr T Graham and seconded by Cllr N Graham. No further nominations received. Cllr B Jones unanimously elected. Clerk to arrange for signature of Declaration of Acceptance.

3. Declarations of Interest

NONE.

4. Minutes of the Annual meeting on 15th October 2020

NOTED.

5. Bankers and bank signatories.

RESOLVED: The following was confirmed for 2021-2022

- Current Bankers: HSBC Caerphilly.
- Current Signatories: Clerk M Jones, Cllrs T Graham, Newbury, Leek & Nelder.
- Any two to sign.

6. Responsible Financial Officer

RESOLVED: As required under section 151 of the LGA 1972 the Clerk was authorised as the Responsible Financial Officer of Van CC and to give instructions and request information on the bank accounts on behalf of Van Community Council.

7. Committees of the Council

No formal committees agreed. A discussion took place on a working group to encourage better community engagement.

RESOLVED: Cllr S Jones and Cllr Pettit to lead and present a proposed remit at a future council meeting.

8. Plenary Powers

RESOLVED: Plenary powers be given to the Chair/Vice Chair in consultation with the Clerk during the summer recess, August 2021 (including payment of creditors).

9. Representatives of the Council on Outside bodies

RESOLVED: The following were confirmed as representatives for 2021-2022 on:

- 8.1 OVW Area Committee meetings Cllr S Jones
- 8.2 CCBC Community Council Liaison Sub Committee Cllr J Leek.
- 8.3 Town & Community Councils Liaison Committee Cllr J Leek, Cllr T Graham.

10. Documents & Policies for 2021-2022

Members AGREED to adopt the following policies and documents for the ensuing year:

- Standing Orders for 2020/2021 (last review September 2020).
- Financial Regulations 2020/2021 (last review October 2019).
- Asset Register 2020/2021 (last review September 2020).
- Risk Management 2020/2021 (last review September 2020).

11. Internal Auditor

Cllr B Jones commented the report received for 2020-2021 was thorough and well presented.

RESOLVED: Mr M Fisher reappointed as Internal Auditor for Van CC for 2021-2022.

12. Cycle of Meetings for 2021-2022

RESOLVED: Members confirmed the proposed cycle of meetings for 2021-2022. No date for December included, but a meeting may be called if required to discuss budget for the forthcoming financial year.

Meeting closed 6.20 pm

Cllr T Graham	M Jones
Chair – Van Community Council	Clerk