

# VAN COMMUNITY COUNCIL CYNGOR CYMUNED Y FAN

## draft Minutes of the Remote ANNUAL Meeting

Wednesday 18th May 2022

#### Present:

By Video: Cllr Elaine Forehead, Cllr Christine Forehead, Cllr Sheila Jones, Cllr Sheila Newbry, Cllr John Pettit, Cllr Anne Broughton-Pettit, Cllr Jeff Grenfell, Cllr Matthew Ferris, Cllr Lynne Hughes

By Phone: None **Apologies:** None

In Attendance: Michelle Moore (Clerk)

#### 1. To elect a Chair

Nominations- Cllr Elaine Forehead, Cllr Mathew Ferris. Cllr Elaine Forehead elected after receiving more votes. Clerk to arrange for signature of Declaration of Acceptance.

## 2. To appoint the Vice Chair

Nominations-Cllr Anne Broughton Pettit, Cllr Matthew Ferris. Cllr Anne Broughton Pettit elected after receiving more votes. Clerk to arrange for signature of Declaration of Acceptance.

## 3. Retiring chairs comments not applicable

#### 4. Apologies NONE

## 5. Declarations of Interest

**RESOLVED:** Clerk to forward a copy to each Cllr

## 6. Minutes of the Annual meeting on 20th May 2021

The minutes of the remote annual General Meeting held on 20<sup>th</sup> May 2021 were agreed as an accurate record.

## 7. To consider the chairs allowance 2022/2023

Agreed to remain at £500

Cllr Jeff Grenfell proposed that due to the present economic climate, that all Van Community Cllrs forgave their renumerations and that they are reallocated to a more deserving cause.

**RESOLVED**: to add Cllr allowances on the agenda at next Full Council Meeting for further discussion

### 8. Bankers and bank signatories.

**RESOLVED:** The following was confirmed for 2022-2023

- 8.1 Current Bankers: HSBC Caerphilly.
- 8.2 Current Signatories: Clerk M Moore, Cllr John Pettit, Cllr Christine Forehead and Vice Chair Anne Broughton Pettit. ANY TWO to SIGN

## 9. Responsible Financial Officer

**RESOLVED:** As required under section 151 of the LGA 1972 the Clerk was authorised as the Responsible Financial Officer of Van CC and to give instructions and request information on the bank accounts on behalf of Van Community Council.

#### 10. Committees of the Council

No formal committees agreed.

**RESOLVED:** to add to committees of the council on the agenda at next Full Council Meeting for further discussion

### 11. Plenary Powers

**RESOLVED:** Plenary powers be given to the Chair/Vice Chair in consultation with the Clerk during the summer recess, August 2022, and December 2022 (including payment of creditors).

## 12. Representatives of the Council on Outside bodies

**RESOLVED:** The following were confirmed as representatives for 2022-2023 on:

- 12.1 OVW Area Committee meetings Cllr Sheila Jones
- 12.2 CCBC Community Council Liaison Sub Committee Cllr John Pettit
- 12.3 Town & Community Councils Liaison Committee Cllr John Pettit, Cllr Lynne Hughes

#### 13. Documents & Policies for 2022-2023

Members AGREED to adopt the following policies and documents for the ensuing year:

- 13.1 Standing Orders for 2022/2023 (last review September 2020).
- 13.2 Financial Regulations 2022/2023 (last review October 2019).
- 13.3 Asset Register 2022/2023 (last review September 2020).
- 13.4 Risk Management 2022/2023 (last review September 2020).

Agreed to review all policies at a later date

## 14. Internal Auditor

Council would like to consider the possibility of an alternative auditor in the future **RESOLVED:** Mr M Fisher reappointed as Internal Auditor for Van CC for 2022-2023

## 15. Cycle of Meetings for 2021-2022

Mooo

**RESOLVED:** Members confirmed the proposed cycle of meetings for 2022-2023. No date for December included, but a meeting may be called if required to discuss budget for the forthcoming financial year.

Chair Elaine Forehead

Clerk / RFO Michelle Moore